Skip to main content
  • Home

"Drawing the Battle Lines" Exhibit

Monday, May 23, 2022 1pm to 4pm

+ 10 dates

  • Wednesday, May 25, 2022 1pm to 4pm
  • Friday, May 27, 2022 1pm to 4pm
  • Saturday, May 28, 2022 1pm to 4pm
  • Monday, May 30, 2022 1pm to 4pm
  • Wednesday, June 1, 2022 1pm to 4pm
  • Friday, June 3, 2022 1pm to 4pm
  • Saturday, June 4, 2022 1pm to 4pm
  • Monday, June 6, 2022 1pm to 4pm
  • Wednesday, June 8, 2022 1pm to 4pm
  • Friday, June 10, 2022 1pm to 4pm

1374 Evansdale Drive, Morgantown, WV 26506

https://wattsmuseum.wvu.edu/
View map

The Watts Museum is pleased to announce a new exhibit, organized as part of the statewide commemoration of the Battle of Blair Mountain Centennial in 2021. The exhibit, Drawing the Battle Lines: Editorial Cartoons from the West Virginia Mine Wars, runs until July 1, 2022.

Drawing the Battle Lines features editorial cartoons depicting the divisive issues that triggered the West Virginia Mine Wars. In the first two decades of the 20th century, coal miners and coal companies in West Virginia clashed in a series of brutal conflicts over labor conditions and unionization, known as the Mine Wars. These violent conflicts included shootouts, armed marches, murders, and the 1921 Battle of Blair Mountain, which was the largest civil insurrection in the United States since the Civil War.

Using sources that range from the mainstream to the radical, the exhibition explores the role of print media in the struggle for labor rights. As miners, politicians, citizens, and soldiers took sides in this decades-long fight, these illustrations reveal how cartoonists expressed their own views on clashes in the coalfields, while also shaping public perception of the events.

The Watts Museum is open to the public every Monday, Wednesday, Friday, and Saturday from 1:00-4:00pm. The museum is closed on WVU holidays. 

Event Details

  • Michael Vozniak

1 person is interested in this event

User Activity

No recent activity